You are here

Court Info

The Northern District of Indiana is one of 94 districts in the United States. It is comprised of 32 counties divided into the following four divisions:

At the present time, the Northern District of Indiana has three judges in active service, and one in recall status:

  • Appointed on May 20, 1985, Judge Kent Lindquist served as Chief Judge of the bankruptcy court from November 1, 1986, until January 2003. Judge Lindquist retired from active service in January 2003, and currently serves in recall status. Judge Lindquist maintains his office in Hammond and handles cases filed in the Hammond Division.
  • Judge Robert E. Grant was appointed on August 17, 1987. Judge Grant is headquartered in Fort Wayne and handles cases filed in the Fort Wayne Division and the Hammond Division at Lafayette.
  • Judge James R. Ahler was appointed on June 16, 2017, and in January 2023, was appointed Chief Judge, a position he currently holds. Judge Ahler is headquartered in Hammond and handles cases filed in the Hammond Division. 
  • Judge Paul E. Singleton was appointed on July 29, 2021, and is headquartered in South Bend. Judge Singleton handles cases filed in the South Bend Division.